Caleb Pusey House

The Pennock log house, located opposite the
Caleb Pusey house, was built in 1790 by
Pusey's great-great-granddaughter.
The Caleb Pusey House, built in 1683, is the oldest continuously standing house in Pennsylvania open to the public. Built and occupied by Caleb Pusey, this is the only still -standing building which can claim documented association with the proprietor, William Penn, and which he is known to have visited on several occasions. This unique English vernacular house stands beside Race Street, the small road once paralleling the millrace that brought water from Chester Creek to power the mills.

“Landingford” was the name Pusey gave to the 100 acre farm adjoining the mill site deeded to him by Penn which he cultivated to raise food for his large family.

Pusey and his family came to Pennsylvania in 1682 along with Penn on the ship "Welcome", to serve as manager and agent for the Chester Mills, the first official proprietary saw and grist mill to be established by Penn in the colony.


May through October
Saturdays 1 to 4 PM
and by request to telephone or email​
For more information, call (610) 874-5665, or email>br>